“We sure could use, a little good news, today”

Daily prompt:  Head to your favorite online news source. Pick an article with a headline that grabs you. Now, write a short story based on the article. 

♥ ♥ ♥

I love the Daily Prompt, but on some days my heart sinks to my feet because I cant do it, like today.  I don’t do politics on the blog, I could, but I don’t.  I don’t do religion either, also again, I could but I don’t.  So with today’s prompt I scoured the News and couldn’t find anything uplifting.   It actually left me quite miserable – so for today’s prompt, hope its not cheating, but I leave you with this old song which is rather apt…

*Hugs*

61 thoughts on ““We sure could use, a little good news, today”

  1. I have a happy thought for you. It’s cold outside but inside there is love and warmth from all the people on WP that follow you and adore you :)

  2. If it wasn’t for my msn account, I’d never see the news. I’d loved to have heard the song, but unfortunately, my old lappy freezes on videos, so I’ll have to try and imagine what it’s about. :)

  3. That works as far as I’m concerned. We need more happy news. (I met a girl who sang the blues, and asked her for some happy news, but she just smiled and turned away. – Don McLean: Aemrican Pie)

  4. Thanks Hugs. It’s profoundly sad. It’s hard to look at the sunny-side when you hear it, but it is optimistic too. Hope you are also. Best thoughts from the other side of the globe – Mgert

  5. Perfect choice! The “If it bleeds it leads” theory has become the entire news cast. I can barely watch it anymore. I would love a news channel that had only good news, there is a lot of good news and I don’t need the police blotter with every robbery and murder going on. If I really need to know about something I will hear about it.

  6. Pingback: Short and sweet today… « Hope* the happy hugger

  7. It’s certainly not cheating to show the world something that is wrong and what would be better. Personally, it helped me to stop and think about all the wonderful things I have in life and how, even after the stroke, how much better off I am than some. When I think of how I would be now if I couldn’t get help to buy my medications or if I didn’t have a set home to live in…
    Yeah, I am thankful and thinkful.
    Scott

  8. Pingback: HUNGRY SIN « hastywords

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

