Home » Uncategorized » Teacher…

Teacher…

 

vintage performers  (93)

Daily PromptTell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?  

♥ ♥ ♥

Miss Muller; She was so pretty with her long, shiny brown hair and her incredibly soft and gentle blue eyes.  Miss Muller was my Std1/Grade 3 teacher.  At break, when I would be standing there alone under the tree, she would come and take my hand and say “come, Michelle, you can walk with me.”  I loved it when Miss Muller was on break duty, the other teachers didn’t care really.

Miss Muller always had a surprise for me, she kept a few toffees in her pocket and just when it was time for her to go, she would quickly push one in my hand and would tell me not to tell the other kids because she only gave sweets out to those who needed something nice.

I have often wondered about Miss Muller, she must be quite an old lady now.   At that time I remember that she was a new teacher who had just qualified the year before…I like to think that she must have been a positive influence to the many years of children she would have taught.

She didn’t treat me like the teachers pet in class, but when I was alone and she would come and take my hand, well, she made me feel special.  She was a stark contrast to one of my high school maths teachers who called me by my surname and banged on my desk with his cane and told me to stop dreaming and pay attention.  I desperately wanted to tell him how boring he was and that I didn’t understand a blooming thing … but I knew better :)

*hugs*

56 thoughts on “Teacher…

  1. I guess teachers are like any other profession in life. There are good ones and there are bad ones. Miss Muller was definitely one of the good ones, it seems.

  2. Some of my math teachers were the absolute worst throughout school. I’m not sure I’d actually classify them as “teachers,” I’m not sure they met the minimum requirements. Often times, they wouldn’t know how to solve a problem, and the solution wouldn’t be in the back of their books and they’d just tell us to skip it.

  3. I think I would have been a teacher like yours. I would not have taken your hand (that would have meant trouble, especially now), but I would have talked to you and, perhaps, had a toffee for you.
    I liked the quieter children as I had been one myself.
    Scott

  4. Thank you for visiting my teacher post.
    I so relate to your story about your math teacher. I guess many of them can’t handle the fact that not everybody has got a brain for numbers and formula. I haven’t either… didn’t understand a “number” of what they were explaining either. And at last I was happy when they just left me alone :)

  5. i remember one of my teacher….who loved me a lot…once she slapped me after that she herself start weeping…and on last day of school she said to me how i teach without you…i really never forget that teacher…who one of the 1st teacher who love…
    now i am in university life…and i have good but more bad teachers :)

  6. Miss Muller sounds like a lovely person and a good teacher. If we could all have had more Miss Mullers during our school years who knows what we could have achieved. It’s not so much about the knowledge teachers impart but the way they present it and make it interesting. Sadly so many teachers just go through the motions and say the most dreadfully demotivating things to kids who are struggling instead of encouraging them.

  7. Teachers have an enormous influence on their students’ lives. They can make or break one’s interest in a subject. I found that if I liked a teacher, I enjoyed his/her subject too.

  8. can I suggest you something my dear, have you ever tried concentration on breathing,
    we in India call it ” Vipasiana “, the first part is breathing. just concentrate on your breathe sitting in any position which is comfortable for you, but sit upright and relaxed. Feel your breathe coming in and out of your nostrils, just feel each nostril, feel what if it is cold or warm, if the breathe is coming in and coming out of both the nostrils, remember just few of these basics and practise it at least for 30.00 minutes daily, see what happenes to your thoughts during concentrating on your breathe.

    You have to just keep concentration on just that part of your nose only and the area above your upper lip, That small triangle only,

    Do it with complete sincerity and honestly, tell me what you feel after a month,

    Million hugs to my lovely friend

      • no you need not go anywhere, you alone in your home in your solitary momemts alone on the bed, in any position you wish, just do it with full intensity, full sincerity, don’t discuss with any body not even me,

        just do it daily and relax, you support nowhere outside just your breathe, be your own support, my dear

        Love……….. hugs

      • my darling never thank me, just do it, and if you like than revert back to me, but no thanks ever, you are a darling my dear, love you,

        God bless you

  9. Mrs. Muller was very intuitive, you should look her up and tell her. I would not suggest telling a teacher they were boring and hard to track, I did it to Mr. Livermore, a smelly old science teacher. I did not enjoy summer school that year when my friends were out playing in the sun. *hugs*

  10. Hey you… I had a couple of teachers who made a huge impact on me! Perhaps because they could sense how tumultuous life was at home. Their kindness touched my heart. The memory will live on in me forever
    xxx

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

