Home » Uncategorized » Missing my favourite

Missing my favourite

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

http://www.vintageimages.org

Daily Prompt:  What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

Blegh,  I should not be let loose on the keyboard today considering my melancholy mood…but I shall post, regardless.

I don’t have one specific favorite person.  Yes, like all moms I miss my children terribly when they go away on camps or sleepovers.  I spend time worrying, wondering if they’re ok, as I said – just like all moms.  Surprisingly my children are very social people and have friends.

I have people I miss though, just the sheer communication.  When bloggers who blog regularly suddenly stop posting, well I miss them.  I wonder what has happened to them and always hope that they’re ok.

I am not a very social person and mostly mosey around in my own world, thinking about the very few people I have allowed in…and then often realize that they couldn’t give two hoots or wonder about me the way I do them (see, told you I was all melancholy.)  Sometimes I think my mistake is that I give myself far too much credit.

Quite frankly, I don’t know why I do it, make the very few friends I make in between, I mean…why?

*hugs*

53 thoughts on “Missing my favourite

  1. I share your concern when regular bloggers stop posting. Very rarely does one find out what happened to make them stop. It is possible to care for and miss virtual friends! Here`s a virtual hug for you (((((((((((((((((((())))))))))))))))) and a cheer-up feather from Goosey. :-)

  2. You should always give yourself more credit than anybody else will give you Esperanza!
    And, to my way of thinking, if people don’t want to know me because I don’t fit the norm – their loss entirely!

  3. I’ve recently stopped logging onto a certain social network… let’s say it sounds like “Tracehook”.
    And I wonder, am I missed? Do people look for my status updates and wonder where I am? I don’t think so. I don’t mean that in a ‘down on myself’ kind of way, I just think people are more wrapped up in their own worlds and don’t tend to miss people as much as others might think.
    I don’t have many people in my life – I moved away from friends and family around three and a half years ago while I was married, but then when my wife left me (six months AFTER we moved) I was left in a place where I knew nobody. My entire social circle now is either over text or email. And when I don’t have my son with me, I am literally all on my own. And that can be hard.
    I don’t know what point I’m trying to make here… I guess it’s because I’m also in a melancholy mood…
    Love the blog :-)

    • Simon it is really amazing how much one can benefit from haviing friends to chat with. I am not lonely but I just moved from my house to a beautiful Garden home cennected to my daugter.s house but when I start missing loved ones, and feel life isn’t worth it, I come and talk to my friends. It’s one of my vavourite things, and then I don’t feel so bad. (Apollogy to Mary Poppins)

  4. My circle of friends has dwindled somewhat over the years, but fortunately I can live with myself.
    I also miss some of the old LD crowd. The ones we found here on WP are the ones worth keeping.

  5. I spent 20 years ignoring me. I had no friends. When I was away from my husband I was happiest. That’s messed up! I missed me. I am enjoying getting reacquainted. As a result, I have new and more friends than ever before that I miss on a regular basis when I don’t see or speak to them for a few days, thank you internet. I feel so blessed with the people now in my life and I miss bloggers who go away too. Interesting question that my answer actually surprised me! When we reach out there is always someone to catch us. *hugs*

  6. Well Hope, at least you know I am always around! Always there for you, even when my world is in chaos. Tons of Blossalicious Love and Hugs xxx

  7. It appears your concerns and degree of “socialness” are shared my many. Count me in too. Maybe something about Introverts vs. extroverts as well? Interestingly I am paired with someone more extroverted so it kind of balances out.

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Favorite « prettywitgla33es

  9. “Quite frankly, I don’t know why I do it, make the very few friends I make in between, I mean…why?”

    As always, the answer is “Why not?” I would find loneliness much worse.

    I have a friend who moved to Africa to “save the animals.” 3 or 4 times a year we would have a playdate in museums or attractions around Los Angeles and let ourselves just be crazy. Definitely miss that. . .
    ;o)

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: My Favorite Grandchildren | My Blog

  11. Two things: first, I understand about the being gone thing. I have not gone to church but once in a long while (long while). I am not angry at people, but, for the most part, no one has asked me to go back, no phone calls from those I attended with. It’s like “we miss him, but, oh well…”. I really don’t intend on going back much if at all, but wonder why people do that – not try to put themselves out that tiny bit to see if…

    Second, you, dear lady. I would miss you bunches if you disappeared and would try to find out why. You are one of the people here in blog land I do truly enjoy our short conversations with and think of you as a special person. I understand you, perhaps, more than you know, and feel a lot of what you feel. Melancholy or not, smile and be happy – you are loved.
    Scott

  12. I cannot know how it must feel if loved ones and friends disappoint you. but I’ve been blogging with you for quite a while now and I think that you must be one of the nicest, sweetest people I can think of. If you were disappointed in someone, put him/her/them out of your mind and heart. My Mantra ‘Youre in control of you thoughts’ So leave the bad ones. I am sure there is lots and lots of beautiful things in you to love.

  13. I really like the friends I’ve met on wordpress, including you. Your honesty is so refreshing! I think that I will find the winter blues a little less potent now that I have discovered blogging. It’s nice to visit other blogs even while my nose is rosy from a cold – can’t do that comfortably in person… Hugs! And I don’t have to worry you’ll catch this bug!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  14. You don’t give yourself enough credit, Hope. You are such a kind, loving person – just what most of us really like in a friend. Maybe they know they don’t deserve you for a friend. ♥♥♥

  15. Aww… Isn’t it odd how one minute you’re strangers and in time you become attached and worry about other bloggers? I think most people here do. Anyways, I don’t think it matters that you don’t make much friends. I mean, better few and far between and these are the few who really matter and make a difference than hundreds who all don’t really matter much right? I’m also like that and my best friend’s boyfriend actually finds it weird that I have so little friends on Facebook. But you know what Ross Gardiner said in his video (“You Need To Get Off Facebook”) –

    You don’t have 857 friends (I think that was the number). You have about 4. And that’s okay. =D

    *hugs*

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

