Home » Uncategorized » Kick It

Kick It

Flowers03

Daily Prompt: What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Well, to be honest, I don’t have a bucket list because I don’t intend kicking the bucket anytime soon.  I do however have a wish to do something which I have mentioned before and that is to travel along the coast with no specific destination in mind, but stopping off at all the little coastal villages and exploring the area.  My dream is to do this in a little motor home.

I mentioned this to a friend once and he jokingly said he would let me drive.   Sadly, my friend died suddenly… this prompt got me thinking about this, my friend dying so suddenly of cancer and I thought, I’ll bet he is doing just what he wants and going where he wants to go now that he is on the other side

Maybe we don’t need bucket lists, because when we cross over to the other side is when we will find the peace our souls are searching for here…

*Hugs*

42 thoughts on “Kick It

  1. A lovely thought indeed. There is no need to fret about all the things we don’t have time for or can’t afford now, because we will have all of eternity to see them out. I like it.

  2. I fully believe we will be at peace when this life is over.
    As for now, though, figure out a way to do what it is you want to do.
    There are things I wanted to do and now can’t or wouldn’t enjoy them because of what the stroke has done to my ability to walk and such. Don’t wait – enjoy life.
    Scott

  3. I think your trip around the coast is brilliant. I can see you bumping along in the van pulling over for a flask of tea or stopping at a beach restaurant for sundowners….ahhhh bliss :)

  4. That’s the kind of journey that I enjoy too, Hope, unstructured, and spontaneous. Hope you get to do it one day. There is nothing wrong with having a bucket list, in my opinion it’s not morbid but helps to focus our attention on the things that really bring us joy rather than getting caught up in the mundane. We have to dream because when you stop dreaming you have given up. The world is full of new experiences big and small just waiting for us to embrace them.

  5. Hope I am so glad you realised what you were missing out on in your earlier life. Be yourself, friend, there’s no one else quite like you. Be who you want to be, do what you want to do and ENJOY. As long as you don’t hurt anyone else in the process. Bless you. ♥

  6. I hope you manage to do your motor home trip one day. I have a few places I still want to see, but also don’t intend on kicking the bucket after I’ve seen them. :D Hugs to you.

  7. Pingback: DREAM BIG « hastywords

  8. I did just that – when I retired I bought a small motor home and for three years I caught the ferry from Portsmouth UK to Northern Spain and motored through all the different regions – sampling the wines en route – and finding the sun – then setting up and teaching art! I also ambled my way around the UK very happily – it was a sad day when I sold it :-( but I had had my good times.

  9. I think that is true, I think our souls are sent here to learn a lesson or two on life. Whatever our burden is, that is what we need to make peace with in this lifetime and then I think it is probably very nice for us after that, or they recycle us and send us back to try to figure it all out again. Ever see those little kids that just feel so very, very, old, their eyes look old? Just a thought.

  10. Beautiful painting. A couple of years ago, my wife, youngest daughter and I traveled up the Northern California coast, stopping at lighthouses, waterfalls, covered bridges, and national forests along the way. Ultimately, we ended up at Crater Lake in Oregon. It was a wonderful trip, but alas, too brief.

  11. I always enjoy each day of my life here as if it would be my last! Treat others as I want to be treated, help where i can, share, care and love with a pure love that asks for nothing in return and give a smile to everyone whom i meet each day….the easiest gift to give and when i leave I will be happy for we only do this gig once and the next one you will receive a bountiful reward for being self-less! So enjoy why it lasts!

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

