Immortalized in Stone

 

VintageDogs55

Daily promptYour personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

♥♦♥

This year there are two things which my sculptor could sculpt, if he could sculpt emotions, both of these events would fall under the heading “I lost my best friend.”  I choose to talk about only one of these.

In March my little dog Paris died of cancer.  I blogged about her then too.  She was operated on a few months earlier and the tumours were removed, but the cancer came back again.

I was out and I was getting frantic calls from home telling me that my little dog was crying and wailing and no one could come near her.  On my way back I got a call from my mom who said “She’s waiting for you, it’s you she’s crying for.”  I told my mom I was on my way. When I got there my little dog stopped crying, I sat on the floor next to her little bed and held her gently…she died in that hour.

Still now, I can’t explain the absolute loss I felt and still feel and still I cry…

I will never forget her eyes…

84 thoughts on “Immortalized in Stone

  1. The sad loss of a dear friend – never an easy thing.
    Paris would make a good sculpture.
    There is only one thing i would like to have immortalised in stone – my son’s graduation. The rest is hopefully written on sand, to be erased as soon as possible!

  2. I am so sorry for your loss sweetness. I lost my Bruno a little over 3 years ago to lymphoma. Fortunately we found Rosie thanks to a wonderful friend of mine who knew my pain and knew she was in pain because someone had taken her to the pound. We rescued her as much as she rescued us. I think if my personal sculptor were sculpting a statue that represented the last year of my life it would be a cleft symbol and it would be carved all over with hearts and symbols of joy, but at the same time it would be painted in gradations of black at the bottom to a light cream color at the top. At the beginning of the year last year I was in a very dark place and through the last year my music and my marriage have helped to bring me out of that darkness. :)

  3. I understand your feelings so well my friend,
    almost two years ago I lost my beautiful friend
    a cat that meant the world to me… She was
    almost fifteen years old and also passed away
    due to cancer. She was and always will be
    my sweetest friend… I too held my cat until her
    time came, one of the most upsetting times of
    my life so I do understand this post and your
    heartbreaking feelings towards your Paris.

    Be well and always try
    to feel the light my friend :)

    I am visiting you
    today from Garry’s
    Space…

    Androgoth

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Immortalized In Stone « prettywitgla33es

  5. I understand too well how you feel, just went through the same thing with my beloved George, who underwent surgery in Sept for cancer, now every little cough etc my heart does a leap and I think the worst…..losing a beloved pet is so hard…..hugs…

  6. Although it was a difficult loss, it must have been touching to know that she was waiting for you. Death is inevitable, but it was nice how Paris was able to choose the conditions of her passing–in your loving arms. {{{Hugs}}}

  7. I feel for you, I lost 3 of my furbabies last year when the food that we were feeding them caused liver and kidney problems. They were all gone within a few weeks of each other.To loose a pet is one of the most devastating heartbreaks a human can go through, if only they had a longer life span, that they could share with you. This is a beautiful story, and thank you for sharing it with us.

  8. Pingback: THE DEATH OF DEPRESSION « hastywords

  9. There is no pain like it. It is an excruciating loss. I am still wailing inside for the last golden friend I held to the end – a golden retriever named Peaches. You were there and you were all that mattered. How fortunate we are to have had such an irreplaceable bond.

  10. Oh.. that’s so sad. It’s always heart-breaking to lose a loved one and to sculpt those emotions would definitely be a task! Sending some smiles your way..

  11. I too am so very sorry for you Hugs. To lose a treasured pet is to lose a very dear friend.

    The Power of the Dog
    by
    Rudyard Kipling

    There is sorrow enough in the natural way
    From men and women to fill our day;
    And when we are certain of sorrow in store,
    Why do we always arrange for more?
    Brothers and sisters, I bid you beware
    Of giving your heart to a dog to tear.

    Buy a pup and your money will buy
    Love unflinching that cannot lie–
    Perfect passsion and worship fed
    By a kick in the ribs or a pat on the head.
    Nevertheless it is hardly fair
    To risk your heart to a dog to tear.

    When the fourteen years which Nature permits
    Are closing in asthma, or tumour, or fits,
    And the vet’s unspoken prescription runs
    To lethal chambers or loaded guns,
    Then you will find–it’s your own affair–
    But … you’ve given your heart to a dog to tear.

    When the body that lived at your single will,
    With its whimper of welcome, is stilled (how still!)
    When the spirit that answered your every mood
    Is gone–wherever it goes–for good,
    You will discover how much you care,
    And will give your heart to a dog to tear.

    We’ve sorrow enough in the natural way,
    When it comes to burying Christian clay.
    Our loves are not given, but only lent,
    At compound interest of cent per cent.
    Though it is not always the case, I believe,
    That the longer we’ve kept ‘em, the more do we grieve:
    For, when debts are payable, right or wrong,
    A short-term loan is as bad as a long–
    So why in–Heaven (before we are there)
    Should we give our hearts to a dog to tear?

  12. This is one of the saddest and most beautiful events I had the privilege to read about.
    Thank you for sharing some of this with the world. I am so sorry for your loss.

  13. Such a sweet dog – she will be immortalized in your heart. We feel your pain. Each of our dogs all hold a special place in our hearts, but Smokey was my cancer buddy, he was with me comforting me during my treatments and in the end he was the one who died from it. My heart still aches for him, as a matter of fact I am crying now. May God bring you comfort. Patty

  14. I am so sorry for your sorrow, it is so hard and the eyes say it all don’t they. the card on my site right now has a photo of my dogs eyes the day I had to let her go, I will never forget them either. hugs to you.

  15. I have lost 6 dogs over the course of my lifetime and it never gets easier…..my sense of loss for each one is still a raw wound and for some it has been years. And yet I always get another one (I rescue) and feel so blessed that they chose/choose to spend their short time on earth with me…she is forever with you my friend and I encourage you to read the poem The Rainbow Bridge.
    Lisa

  16. This is so sad .. when reading your post it’s like I can feel some of your pain about the loss. Difficult to find words for that .. She’s had a wonderful life with you and you’ve been there for her ..she’ll always be in your heart. Best wishes to you..

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

