Hate to love

138626494749560231_GGvPGCGV_c

Pic from: pinterest

Daily prompt from WordPress:  Tell us about a guilty pleasure that you hate to love.

This is going to sound so horrible of me, but I hate it that I love quiet.  It’s as though the world is a really loud place and people talk too much.   I don’t mind conversations but I don’t like long drawn out conversations.   It’s easier when people get to the point without taking so many twists and twirls along the way whilst telling something.

I’m not saying I like complete silence.  I like the sounds of certain music, I love the sound of a cat purring, I love the sound of waves crashing and birds chirping, but most of all, I love the sound of even breathing when people are sleeping peacefully…especially my little star.

Some days I can handle it, other days like today I am so busy trying to still my own mind let alone trying to take in what someone else is saying especially when they’re talking incessantly in a tone that does not harmonize well with me at that moment.

Sometimes it would be so much better if people would like to tell me a long drawn out story if they just wrote it out and I could read it in my own space in my mind.

I hasten to add that I’m not always this unsociable, just sometimes and sometimes a lot of the time…

*hugs*

44 thoughts on “Hate to love

  1. Love quiet. Wrote a post called the Sound of Silence for a weekly writing challenge a few months ago where I tried to capture the perfect lack of noise that can be found at great heights while backpacking in the Sierra and how it is something I look forward to every year.

  2. I also like healthy doses of quiet or nature sounds – that’s what re-energizes me to deal with the noisy and crowded. That’s just normal for 40-50% of the population that trend toward introvert. I don’t consider that horrible or unsociable, it’s simply the way my brain is wired or another good word is normal for me and many others. The extroverts need noisy and lots of people to energize. That feels abnormal to me but it’s their normal. And you’re absolutely right, many of them don’t understand but that doesn’t change the facts and shouldn’t prompt any guilt whatsoever.

  3. I’m with you (I resisted saying “I hear you!”). Most people get used to the constant cacophony of the world and only notice it when it disappears, leaving a vacuous space in their heads. I’m different. My senses are so sensitive that I notice the noise and it overwhelms me. I listen for silence and it soothes me.

    As you say, certain peaceful, rhythmic sounds are wonderful–even the tapping of my fingers on my keyboard right now. But all around me is quiet save the gentle tapping…

  4. Me, on the other hand, I am often unsociable.
    I don’t hate that I love life without too many humans around me – it suits my soul, my heart and especially my ears and blood pressure!!
    So I doubt that you should feel guilty for liking silence Esperanza – it’s a good thing to rest your ears and your soul for a while each day…
    I might sometimes feel guilty for buying a Marie Claire or a Cosmo when I really should be buying cat food, but I’ve made it my life’s mission to not feel guilty about everything I might be doing wrong. Therein lies absolute misery!!

  5. Pingback: My first award: Blog of the Year 2012 « prettywitgla33es

  6. I wish my world was silent. I suffer from Meniere’s Disease, so I live with a constant sound in my head. Just one night I’d love to fall asleep with only the sound of my breathing, but I can’t. The TV is my constant companion now, if not, I’d never fall asleep. So don’t feel guilty, feel lucky you have that choice. :)

  7. I can understand you so well .. I love silence and quiet, too ..with only the sounds of nature ..and I often feel the world is much too loud – especially in the cities. So I’m glad to live in the country :)

    And I think I’m quite introvert .. :)

  8. I guess you are an extremely introverted person, not more and not less, and there is nothing wrong with you at all. The silence is your source of energy, and your internal energy level decides about your tolerance of loudness and conversions. Think about this. I wish you all the best!

  9. Pingback: CHASING FRIENDSHIPS « hastywords

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Guilty Pleasures I Hate To Love | My Blog

  11. I believe that “unsociable” is the wrong term here. I don’t care much for it when people go on and on. I don’t even care for it much when I do. lol Being sociable, to me, should mean just getting out at times and being nice to people when you should. I have never seen any evidence that you don’t do that and, besides, even if you do, it’s your business. I doubt that you scream at people to shut up and leave when you are listening to them…
    Scott

  12. Hope there is nothing wrong with needing and enjoying silence. I also need to take a step back from the busyness of life frequently just to be alone without voices, television, etc. in the background. We live with so much audio pollution these days and for some of us it is just too much. Sorry for the late response, back home again trying to catch up with the blogs.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

