Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

Today’s Daily Prompt:What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

36943659413687020_9ClYjcY9_c

Pic from pinterest

There is no question in particular that I don’t like being asked, but I most certainly don’t like being asked a question which has an obvious answer.  I posted about this sometime ago.  A fictional example; you’re at your therapist and you tell him about a traumatic experience and then he in turn will ask “And how do you feel about that?”  That is when I want to ask “Well, how do you think I feel about it?”  but of course I wont say that because I’m too blooming polite.

The other type of question I can’t stand is when a person asks a question as a statement and waits expecting an answer.  An example;  My little child is very active, she will climb trees, swing, run around outside and will be barefooted most of the playing time … then the question will go something like this (and it’s always from an older lady)  “I don’t know if it’s a good idea for children to be running around barefooted in this weather?”  The expression is priceless of course when I choose not to answer…because it wasn’t really a question, was it?

And there you have it.  I have become quite flippant when people ask me questions that I don’t want to answer because I’ve spent far too much time answering to people I didn’t need to answer to in  the first place, just I didn’t realize that until recently :)

*hugs*

 

45 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

  1. So recognizable! Like people asking you: “oh, are you doing grocery shopping too?” When you are in a grocerystore. My answer is always: “no, I’m here to wash my car…”

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth « prettywitgla33es

  3. You know I realised that only in the last year or so too, people ask those questions and we feel guilty about it. We do not need to justify ourselves to others about our actions or what we let our children do. If it is ok with us, it is ok, no one needs to question it. It is all to do with out conficdence and and feeling good about decisions we make. We keep learning in lif and that is good! I am glad I am not the only one. Hugs

  4. Pingback: The Question I Hate The Most | Beyond Beauty Tips

  5. Pingback: Inspiration: Dig Deeper For Gratitude… | Mirth and Motivation

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

