Home » Uncategorized » Slash and Burn

Slash and Burn

Daily prompt:  Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post.

Vintage Papers & Receipts (13)

The Daily prompt was a hard task master for me today.  When I read “write about anything” well I let rip and wrote and wrote.  I hit the 500 words mark but then had to take 250 words away from that …quite a task indeed!

♣ ♣ ♣

People don’t seem to realize how much power words carry.  Words are used carelessly and not a thought is given to the person on the receiving end of those words.  Words can make us happy, words can make us sad and words can hurt more than anything.  I’ve experienced in the past few days how things seem to happen in succession.   Words have been said to me from different people on different occasions that I have found so utterly hurtful.  I decided not to write about this on my blog because I knew I would be told to grow a thicker skin.  I thought I’d be strong but then the final blow, one more bout of nasty words from one I least expected it from.

The WordPress people said write about anything, well, my anything is this really awful heart sore in my stomach.   Often the words are mixed up and misunderstood by all and the intention was never meant the way it had come out.  Unfortunately sometimes the ears hear something other than what the mouth is saying and often the other way around.  I do try to think before I open my mouth.

My heart pains when someone is unduly nasty and unkind.  Truly, I get a pain in my chest which I’m assuming is heart pain which in fact is most probably heart ache.  I know I’m talking about this sort of thing again but I am so sad and I really couldn’t care less right now.

*hugs*

31 thoughts on “Slash and Burn

  1. I want to ‘Like’ this post, but it seems wrong somehow because you’re obviously upset! The post itself is well written, but the subject matter… I’m sorry you’ve been hurt by something that should be used as a celebration of life, and affirmation of love, or an expression of joy and wonder. You’re right – words are the cruelest weapon of the evil at heart

  2. What is the old saying “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me..” how wrong that is… words enter into a brain space and have a way of staying there and popping up every now and then… I have taken years to get used to ignoring that which does not please me, but it still hurts and takes a physical effort to forget it… maybe I’m more of a hard head and when hurt by words fight back with a vengeance, not always the best thing to do because then it is harder to forget, and one always goes over the retort in ones head and you keep thinking of things you should have said…
    No easy thing to do take it from me as I said it has taken me years… but good luck in trying to reach the same level of “I don’t care attitude” that I have reached… love your blog and “Hugs…”

  3. I’m so sorry for your pain. Your post was beautiful and poignant, and sadly true. Sadly, I’ve been on both sides of what you describe. I’ve been cruelly wounded by words, which is actually more painful than physical wounds, and I’ve also wounded others with the words that have come out of my mouth or my pen, and that grieves me as well.

    Scripture says that life and death is in the power of the tongue, and I want to speak life to you right now. Please be comforted knowing that God feels your pain, and He loves you. I feel your pain too, and I’m praying that the God of all comfort will wrap you in His arms, and that you will hear His voice as He whispers words of life, love, hope, peace and joy into your heart. Many blessings to you!

    Love,
    Cheryl

  4. You know the old sayings, “follow your heart..”, “my heart isn’t in it…” It’s the most awful feeling when your heart hurts with the pain from verbal abuse. I had a verbally abusive mother, first husband and recently, my 2nd ex. I kept looking for the verbally abusive battle for more than 50 years. I have finally quit looking. It was a long road but there are many books out there that help. I was very depressed for 13 years as well. I think it is why I relate to your blog. *hugs*, I really do know how you feel, it sucks, but it’s not about a tough skin, it’s much deeper than that and mean people are projecting how they feel about themselves for the most part. Emotional vampires.

      • It is so much deeper. As I have stated other places, I don’t believe I was abused as much as the way things were put to me, I didn’t understand them as a child. My self-esteem was very low, depression high and it has taken me over 40 some years to begin to deal with it well. I hate to see artblablablablog stop looking, but that is an answer. I am looking, but have an eye to the fact that the type of person I am looking for and the type of person I choose to have in my life may not be there for me as a mate. I am not 100% certain I choose a mate anymore. We shall see. Both of you keep smiling as life is still very good.
        Scott

  5. Bambi or Thumper, can’t remember which one, maybe my Mother said: If you have nothing good to say, don’t say it all. Yup, the minute that word departs from your mouth, from your tongue, from your head, from your heartless body; it could never be retracted or retrieved. I send an angel to protect you from that Evil, vile, malicious, emotion sucking vampire! Remember, you are special, Hugger.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Slash and Burn | A YEAR OF DAILY POSTS ~ A PERSONAL CHALLENGE

  7. I can only agree with what you have written Hope, and I will add the following quotation from one of my favourite authors:

    “Words are like eggs dropped from great heights; you can no more call them back than ignore the mess they leave when they fall.”
    ~ Jodi Picoult, Salem Falls

    Again, love the vintage picture!

    [[[hugs]]]

  8. Seems like when people are angry ( and there is so much to be angry at these days) they lash out at other people for no reason at all. They take their frustration and point it somewhere in an effort to release something (which in the end never happens). The bullets can be real (like so many recent events here in the US) or they can be actions or words. But like a gun words can wound the heart and soul, or just graze you… but you never forget them and they cannot be taken back. Pretty powerful. Love to you Hugs.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

