Daily Prompt: Oasis

Daily Prompt: “A sanctuary is a place you can escape to, to catch your breath and remember who you are. Write about the place you go to when everything is a bit too much.”

Victorian Children  (6) (1)

pic from: http://www.vintageimages.org

My oasis grew and developed since I was a very young child.  It was the place where he couldn’t hurt me physically or emotionally.  It was the safest place I knew.

A place no one else could enter except for myself.  I had the ability to flip the switch when he was in an abusive mood and I could transport myself away.

Thinking back, it is no wonder my teachers said I was a careless dreamer and that I never concentrated – but it was purely because I slipped into my sanctuary often.  Harshness, loud voices, fighting, screaming, too much talking from other people made me flip that switch. 

It was a place where my dolls became my pretend friends, we would have pretend telepathic conversations.  In times of distress I would just look over at my doll which I had named Anne.  She would stare back at me and would tell me that everything would be OK and when the going got really rough, that was when my angels appeared in my sanctuary, while I just closed my eyes, they spoke to me.  

My imagination is still my oasis now, just in a very different way.  Sometimes I cant always tap into that peaceful sanctuary way in the center of my mind but on good days I can…

*Hugs*

29 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Oasis

  1. Oh Hope I also have such a place, a place where I go to forget the hurtful things. Mine starts off with me walking down a spiral flight of stairs, saying good things until I reach the beach at the bottom. To trigger this all I have to do is visualize the spiral staircase. I find the pain eases with every step I take on my way back up and then I push that hurt into a little draw at the top of the stairs and walk away from it. If the hurt manages to flash back I just visualize pushing it into the draw at the top of the stairs and Im okay again.

    There is nothing wrong with us have a place like that. I love your oasis!

  2. It always amazes me when I see how many people have been damaged and hurt. I used to think I was the only one, and I too used to hide in my imagination, kind of like Cinderella in her own little corner:

    But, my imagination didn’t always keep me safe. Truth is, my mind wasn’t entirely trustworthy, and in the midst of abuse, it became quite unstable, as I would dissociate and suffer from panic attacks. But eventually, I found my secret place, the one that Delana was talking about above, and it was in the secret place of the Most High, that I found safety and sanity. I pray you find that same safety and comfort, my friend, and that the wounds of your past will be completely healed, in Jesus’ name. God bless you! I really love your sweet spirit. :)

  3. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. We all have that “place” in our minds. I think that even those who are fairly harsh have one. I don’t know that it’s quite the same, but I bet they have one. My imagination is what got me this far and keeps me going. There was a point after my stroke where I thought it was gone (It has changed, but still there) and that scared me worse than the stroke, the limp, the possibility of lost sight. I love my imagination – it is infused with me.
    Smile,
    Scott

  5. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… » The Blog Farm

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

