Daily Prompt: Audience of One

Daily prompt: Picture the one person in the world you really wish were reading your blog. Write her or him a letter.

My dearest Aunty Gerty,

You’ve been gone for so many years now, but I still think of you so often.  I think of you with much fondness and love.  You were the sweetest kindest Afrikaans lady I had ever known … and you liked me, even with all my moms English-ness in me, you didn’t mind that at all.

I remember the day so fondly when you pitched up at out flat, with the Oom (Uncle).  You told my mom and dad that you’re taking me to church with you on Sunday and that you intend taking me to the OK Bazaars for a new dress and shoes.  It was wonderful, you said I could choose any dress I wanted.  I remember how Oom was grunting and moaning because we “vrou mense” (women)were taking too long and he didn’t like shopping.

On that Sunday when you took me with, you held my hand and told everyone of your friends who I was … remember how I didn’t know I had to put money in the collection plate when it came around and you quickly whispered to me about how it worked and pushed money into my hand so that I could also put money in the plate – You always secretly pushed money into my hand and told me to buy myself sweets … remember that aunty?  Gosh, now I have the tears.

I kept the old cow with the wobbly head for a long time, the one you had in the back of you blue Ford Zephyr… you just decided to give it to me because I thought is was cute how the head wobbled when Oom drove the car.

I loved you so much, I didn’t know to tell you that then.  I remember how sad you were when Oom died, but I think  you are together again now.

I just wanted to tell you that I really loved you and still do …

Love,

Me.

35 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Audience of One

  1. Pingback: Audience of One – A letter to God « Just another wake-up call

  2. Pingback: FOREVER SILENT « hastywords

      • My Great Aunt Tina was also my Grand mothers sister… and boy was she the most special person in my life… at 4ft. 2in. we had the most fun with her ever… she always came on holiday with us and got up to so much mischief… never married, but was a mother to all she came in contact with… loved her..

  3. I really love your blogg. You always have the most beautiful pictures
    so calming and in such lovely colours. My mom had one sister and two
    brothers, all of them lovely people, and all always kind and loving to me.
    My sister’s children and I are very close and so is my children, very
    close to their aunts. My one sis passed away in March and I know how
    much my daugther misses her. Yes Michelle, we must tell people how
    much she/he means to you while they are still with you, and I’m sure
    they would tell you, Michelle, how much she loves you. You sound as if
    you’re kind and loving yourself. Have a very happy weekend.

  4. Pingback: Musings: On Peace… | Mirth and Motivation

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

