Home » Uncategorized » Daily Prompt: Take It From Me

Daily Prompt: Take It From Me

Daily prompt: What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?

My best advice which I am unable to take myself:

“Dont take it to heart”

I’ve been told over and over, throughout life and on the blog to grow a thicker skin and to stop taking things so much to heart.  Try as I may, I just can’t get that one right.  Often, people will come to me and tell me of things which have hurt them. I will always listen and in the end my advice to them is not to take what others say and think too much to heart, half the time they don’t even mean what they say or don’t say properly what they mean.

*hugs*

19 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take It From Me

  1. and a lot of the times people say things because they know it upsets you…. that’s why one must laugh at all things said that you know aren’t correct… it’s jealousy driven most of the time… I have no more joy that when some one says something that’s got back to me, the next time I see them I ask them straight to their faces… boy talk about a squirming, back peddling person .. they will stand and tell you how you heard wrong… and what they meant… that’s when I laugh in their faces…

  2. It is difficult advice to take, but I think it helps if you realise that they, just like you, are just humans.
    Inclined to the exact same emotions as you.

  3. Pingback: HARVEST TRUST « hastywords

  4. Since my stroke I am much better at not taking things too much to heart; however, I still do it a little.
    I used to do it all the time. It honestly feels better to not do it. All you really have to do, I guess, is decide the person doesn’t understand the situation and shouldn’t be telling you what to do. :-)
    Scott

  5. I have to say that I’m right there with you on that one… I take things to heart too, but on the bright side, it’s good that we have a heart… some people have cold hearts, and I wouldn’t want that. :)

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: "What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . ."” C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

